Sometimes the Problem is the Culture, not the Media

Today tried to reach Merv Fingas, author of "The Basics of Oil Spill Cleanup" and other books. I'd emailed him a couple of days ago, receiving no response, called his office. Except it wasn't his office anymore. I was told by the person who picked up the phone that Fingas was retired. He added that he's received a ton of media calls and doesn't want to deal with them -- wants to "enjoy his retirement". I don't know any other specifics about Fingas, he may be taking care of a sick loved one for all I know, but I've seen this type of thing before: Someone spends their life on a subject and when their knowledge becomes relevant for a public discussion, they clam up, further impoverishing our public sphere. I'd imagine they are thinking to themselves that people were not listening when they should have been -- I know I've thought that when I had expertise that people suddenly were interested in. But the overwhelming need to to meet people where they are and take them to a better place. Otherwise the public sphere is dominated by the ignorant.