A VotePact Dialogue

Steve: Why Jason, will you be my votebuddy?

Jason: What ever are you proposing?

Steve: You've been a rightwinger for as long as I've known you. I dare say you've not ever voted Democratic?

Jason: I avoid doing things that would lead me upon reflection to blow my brains out.

Steve: Well, I should admit to you I've voted Democratic at times. Why just this election, I voted for Bernie Sanders.

Jason: Yet you seemed so reasonable.

Steve: Too kind. Now, it's fair to say we've agreed and disagreed on things, yes?

Jason: Well, you're kind of a pinko, aren't you?

Steve: Ayn Rand cultist! -- err -- Let's avoid the name calling, shall we?

Jason: Only in jest.

Steve: Excellent.

Jason: I'm looking at this website here, VotePact.org -- I think I see where you're going --

Steve: Yes, well, succinctly, I say neither of us vote either for Clinton or Trump.

Jason: You know, I do agree with some of the things Trump says, but he's so horribly unreliable, you don't know what he's going to do. 
Steve: I agree -- he's talked about military spending and raised a host of other issues. But he's also said all kinds of awful stuff.
Jason: Most unfortunate. We need to use the good stuff he says to maximum effect, but he's like door number three on "Let's Make a Deal." 

Steve: So, how are you planning on actually voting?

Jason: Well, I certainly prefer Trump to Clinton. I might vote for the Libertarian candidate, Gary Johnson. Heck, I'll even look at the Green Party candidate. I might not agree with all she says, but she's a hell of a lot more sincere than Clinton. 

Steve: Yes, I'm looking at voting Green party, Jill Stein is the nominee, but obviously I'm not wanting to help Trump by doing so. It's already been a crazy election. 

Jason: It's been sheer joy.

Steve: Well, Trump has been openly xenophobic and misogynistic. He could really damage a lot of things we've taken somewhat for granted.

Jason: If it's not a big joke on his part, it's twisted and I'm tired of hearing about it.  

Steve: So, current plan: We agree that neither of us will vote for Trump or Clinton.

Jason: This is the "pact" you speak of, oh votebuddy? Is this anything like that Seinfeld episode?

Steve: Very funny. I'm serious here.

Jason: So how does this work?

Steve: You pledge not to vote for Clinton or Trump and I pledge the same. We can vote for other independent candidates or not vote as we please.

Jason: So we're not chancing us cancelling out each other's votes, which would happen if you decided to vote Clinton and I decided to vote Trump. 

Steve: Exactly. 

Jason: Is this on the honors system?

Steve: Well, I'm obviously inclined to trust you, but I think we should check in periodically, make sure neither of us has had a change of heart or such.

Jason: Well, I think you're a man of your word, Steve. So, sign me up, but I think we do need to check in. Things can change.

Steve: Indeed. You know, we can change, too. I mean just simply by two people who disagree about some things and agree on other things talking and coming to an better understand and then forming an agreement that leaves them both better off. We really can change the world for the better and embrace a new day --

Jason: Lefty thinks he's discovered the dialectic.

Steve: Ok then. Deal?

Jason: Deal. Talk to you later.